The Detta State House of Assembly is composed of 29 legislators from all local government of the state. While some LGAs have one legislator, others have more depending on how the constituency in that LGA is delimated.

The Legislature is presided over by the Honourable Speaker and assisted by the Deputy Speaker. There are other Principal Officers of the House which include: the Majority Leader, Chief Whip, Deputy Majority Leader, Deputy Chief Whip, Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Majority Whip, Minority Whip, Deputy Majority Whip, Deputy Minority Whip. These distinguished Deltans are politicians elected into the House for a fixed tenure of 4years which could be renewed through reelection.

The Clerk is the Administrative head of the Legislative arm, assisted by the Deputy Clerk. The Clerk occupies the highest civil service position in the State House of Assembly.